Theatre



NC State University Theatre, North Carolina State University: The Burial at Thebes


Related Articles

( Fri., Mar. 27, 2015 - Sun., Apr. 19, 2015 )

Kennedy-McIlwee Studio Theatre, 2241 E. Dunn Ave., Raleigh, NC 27695

Program

The Burial at Thebes:  A version of Sophocles' Antigone by Seamus Heaney. First staged in the fifth century B.C., Antigone stands as a timely exploration of the conflict between those who affirm the individual's human rights and those who must protect the state's security. During the rebellion, Antigone, the daughter of Oedipus, learns that her brothers have killed each other, having been forced onto opposing sides of the battle. When Creon, king of Thebes, grants burial of one but not the "treacherous" other, Antigone faces the appalling dilemma of whether to obey Creon and offend against the gods, or follow her heart and plunge her accursed family into a fresh cycle of violence by burying her brother.

Cost

Adults $18; NCSU Faculty/Staff/Seniors/Encore Members/Alumni Association/Parents Association/Students $16; NCSU Students $5

More information

(919) 515-1100
http://www.ncsu.edu/theatre

Dates

  • Friday, March 27, 2015 at 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, March 28, 2015 at 7:30 PM
  • Sunday, March 29, 2015 at 2:00 PM
  • Wednesday, April 8, 2015 at 7:30 PM
  • Thursday, April 9, 2015 at 7:30 PM
  • Friday, April 10, 2015 at 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, April 11, 2015 at 7:30 PM
  • Sunday, April 12, 2015 at 2:00 PM
  • Wednesday, April 15, 2015 at 7:30 PM
  • Thursday, April 16, 2015 at 7:30 PM
  • Friday, April 17, 2015 at 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, April 18, 2015 at 7:30 PM
  • Sunday, April 19, 2015 at 2:00 PM