Theatre



PlayMakers Repertory Company: We Are Proud to Present a Presentation About the Herero of Namibia, Formerly Known as South West Africa, From the German Südwestafrika, Between the Years 1884-1915


Related Articles

( Wed., Feb. 24, 2016 - Sun., Mar. 13, 2016 )

Paul Green Theatre, Near 150 Country Club Rd, Chapel Hill, NC 27514

Program

In a present-day rehearsal, a performance piece on a little-known episode of early 20th century genocide takes a jolting turn when the actors - three black and three white - tap into personal resentments and sublimated prejudices. Tensions mount as they expose more of themselves than they ever wanted to.

Notes

February 8 @ 7:00 PM - “In the Wings,” presented by PlayMakers and the Durham County Library. Cast and creative team members (designers, actors and production personnel) discuss the plays at the Southwest Regional Library, 3605  Shannon Road, Durham;

February 15 @ 6:00 PM - A discussion with the director and cast at The Granary Café, Fearrington Village, Pittsboro

February 24-26:  Preview Performances

February 27 - Opening Night

March 1 - An all-access performance for attendees with special needs, with sign language interpretation and audio description

March 2 & 6 - Free post-show discussions with members of the creative team

March 5 - @ 2:00 PM - Open captioned performance

March 12 @ 7:30 PM and March 12 @ 2:00 PM - Free post-show “Mindplay” discussions sponsored by the North Carolina Psychoanalytic Society

Cost

Tickets start at $15

More information

(919) 962-PLAY (7529)
http://www.playmakersrep.org/

Series

Mainstage Series

Dates

  • Wednesday, February 24, 2016 at 7:30 PM
  • Thursday, February 25, 2016 at 7:30 PM
  • Friday, February 26, 2016 at 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, February 27, 2016 at 7:30 PM
  • Sunday, February 28, 2016 at 2:00 PM
  • Tuesday, March 1, 2016 at 7:30 PM
  • Wednesday, March 2, 2016 at 7:30 PM
  • Thursday, March 3, 2016 at 7:30 PM
  • Friday, March 4, 2016 at 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, March 5, 2016 at 2:00 PM
  • Saturday, March 5, 2016 at 7:30 PM
  • Sunday, March 6, 2016 at 2:00 PM
  • Tuesday, March 8, 2016 at 7:30 PM
  • Wednesday, March 9, 2016 at 7:30 PM
  • Thursday, March 10, 2016 at 7:30 PM
  • Friday, March 11, 2016 at 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, March 12, 2016 at 7:30 PM
  • Sunday, March 13, 2016 at 2:00 PM