Theatre



Raleigh Little Theatre: The Whipping Man


Related Articles

( Fri., Jan. 13, 2017 - Sun., Jan. 29, 2017 )

Raleigh Little Theatre Gaddy-Goodwin Teaching Theatre, 301 Pogue Street, Raleigh, NC 27607

Program

The Whipping Man, by Matthew Lopez:  The Civil War is over. Throughout the South, slaves are being freed and soldiers are returning home. In one home, the annual celebration of Passover is celebrated by a young Confed- erate officer, who has been severely wounded, and two former slaves. However, the pain of enslavement will not be soothed by this tradition. Deeply buried secrets from the past refuse to be hidden forever, as the play comes to its conclusion.

Notes

January 4 @ 6:30 PM - RLT will hold a panel discussion at the Mordecai Historic Park in Raleigh. The panelists will discuss the themes of the play and the history of the Jewish faith in the American South at the time of the Civil War, a history rarely heard, that parallels that of the Mordecai family in certain ways. Scenes from the play will be presented in support the discussion.

January 22 @ 2:00 PM - This performance will be audio described for the visually impaired

Cost

Starting at $15

More information

(919) 821-3111; boxoffice@raleighlittletheatre.org
http://raleighlittletheatre.org/

Series

RLT City Series

Dates

  • Friday, January 13, 2017 at 8:00 PM
  • Saturday, January 14, 2017 at 8:00 PM
  • Sunday, January 15, 2017 at 3:00 PM
  • Thursday, January 19, 2017 at 8:00 PM
  • Friday, January 20, 2017 at 8:00 PM
  • Saturday, January 21, 2017 at 8:00 PM
  • Sunday, January 22, 2017 at 3:00 PM
  • Thursday, January 26, 2017 at 8:00 PM
  • Friday, January 27, 2017 at 8:00 PM
  • Saturday, January 28, 2017 at 8:00 PM
  • Sunday, January 29, 2017 at 3:00 PM