Theatre



PlayMakers Repertory Company: In the Next Room (or the vibrator play)


Related Articles

( Wed., Sep. 21, 2011 - Sun., Oct. 9, 2011 )

Paul Green Theatre, Near 150 Country Club Rd, Chapel Hill, NC 27514

Program

In the Next Room (or the vibrator play), by Sarah Ruhl

Notes

"A 2010 Tony Award nominee for Best Play and Pulitzer Prize finalist, this charming, playful and insightful story set in the late 1800s centers on a medical device then used by doctors to treat symptoms known as 'female hysteria.' Based on historic fact, In the Next Room is a tale of the desire and frustration experienced by men and women in their search for sympathy and understanding between the sexes. It evokes the sensibility of a play by George Bernard Shaw or Oscar Wilde, as seen through the lyrical lens of one of America’s finest modern playwrights."
     Note: Preview performances 9/21, 9/22, & 9/23; Opening Night 9/24; & Vision Series Director’s Preview 9/14. AD 10/4 @ 7:30p.

Cost

$45-$10.

More information

919/962-PLAY (7529)
http://www.playmakersrep.org/

Series

Mainstage Series

Dates

  • Wednesday, September 21, 2011 at 7:30 PM
  • Thursday, September 22, 2011 at 7:30 PM
  • Friday, September 23, 2011 at 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, September 24, 2011 at 7:30 PM
  • Sunday, September 25, 2011 at 2:00 PM
  • Tuesday, September 27, 2011 at 7:30 PM
  • Wednesday, September 28, 2011 at 7:30 PM
  • Thursday, September 29, 2011 at 7:30 PM
  • Friday, September 30, 2011 at 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, October 1, 2011 at 2:00 PM
  • Saturday, October 1, 2011 at 7:30 PM
  • Sunday, October 2, 2011 at 2:00 PM
  • Tuesday, October 4, 2011 at 7:30 PM
  • Wednesday, October 5, 2011 at 7:30 PM
  • Thursday, October 6, 2011 at 7:30 PM
  • Friday, October 7, 2011 at 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, October 8, 2011 at 2:00 PM
  • Saturday, October 8, 2011 at 7:30 PM
  • Sunday, October 9, 2011 at 2:00 PM