Musical Theatre



UNC Greensboro School of Music, Theatre & Dance: The Threepenny Opera


Related Articles

( Wed., Sep. 28, 2011 - Thu., Oct. 6, 2011 )

Taylor Theatre, 406 Tate Street, Greensboro, NC 27402

Program

A milestone of 20th century musical theater, The Threepenny Opera (Die Dreigroschenoper) rolls unstoppably into the 21st century. In this opera "by and for beggars," playwright and composer transformed saccharine, old-fashioned opera and operetta forms, while incorporating sharp political perspective and the sound of 1920’s Berlin dance bands and cabaret. Includes the famous song “Mack the Knife”.  Music by Kurt Weill; Book/Lyrics by Bertolt Brecht; Directed by Christine Morris.

Cost

$20, seniors/students $15, UNCG students $10.

More information

336-334-4TIX (4849)                      
http://performingarts.uncg.edu/

Dates

  • Wednesday, September 28, 2011 at 7:30 PM
  • Thursday, September 29, 2011 at 7:30 PM
  • Friday, September 30, 2011 at 8:00 PM
  • Saturday, October 1, 2011 at 8:00 PM
  • Sunday, October 2, 2011 at 2:00 PM
  • Tuesday, October 4, 2011 at 7:30 PM
  • Wednesday, October 5, 2011 at 7:30 PM
  • Thursday, October 6, 2011 at 7:30 PM