Theatre



Forty/AM: I Love My Hair When It's Good & Then Again When It Looks Defiant and Impressive (premiere)


Related Articles

( Thu., Mar. 8, 2012 - Sat., Mar. 17, 2012 )

Manbites Dog Theater, 703 Foster Street, Durham, NC 27701

Program

Created and directed by Chaunesti Webb - "an original play exploring the complex relationship African American women have with their hair and how that relationship has shaped their identities. Sassy, lyrical and nostalgic, this interdisciplinary piece integrates interview text, original music, movement and video, to explore family, community, race, class, politics and sexuality. Featuring: Aurelia Belfield, Lakeisha Coffey, Hazel Edmond, Sherida McMullan, Yolanda Rabun."

Notes

Post-show discussion 3/11.

Cost

$17 Fri/Sat/Sun $17, weeknights $12; $2 discount for seniors(62+); military/students wID.) $5. Pay-what-you-can 3/8 ($5 min, door sales only). Door sales are cash or check only, no credit cards.

More information

919-682-3343
http://manbitesdogtheater.org/

Series

Other Voices Series

Dates

  • Thursday, March 8, 2012 at 8:15 PM
  • Friday, March 9, 2012 at 8:15 PM
  • Saturday, March 10, 2012 at 8:15 PM
  • Sunday, March 11, 2012 at 3:15 PM
  • Wednesday, March 14, 2012 at 8:15 PM
  • Thursday, March 15, 2012 at 8:15 PM
  • Friday, March 16, 2012 at 3:15 PM
  • Saturday, March 17, 2012 at 8:15 PM