Orchestral Music Preview Print

North Carolina Symphony to Perform in Southern Pines March 22

Mizesko’s “Sketches from Pinehurst,” Dvořák’s Symphony No. 7, Williams’ “Lark Ascending”

Photo courtesy NC Symphony

Grant Llewellyn

Event  Information

Southern Pines -- ( Sat., Mar. 22, 2014 )

North Carolina Symphony: Sketches from Pinehurst
Performed by Grant Llewellyn, music director; Rebekah Binford, violin
$. -- Lee Auditorium, Pinecrest High School , (919)733-2750 , http://ncsymphony.org/ -- 8:00 PM

March 22, 2014 - Southern Pines, NC:

The North Carolina Symphony, led by Music Director Grant Llewellyn, will perform orchestra bass trombonist Terry Mizesko’s “Sketches from Pinehurst,” along with Ralph Vaughn Williams’ “The Lark Ascending, Romance for Violin and Orchestra,” featuring Symphony Assistant Concertmaster Rebekah Binford, and Antonín Dvořák’s Symphony No. 7, Saturday, March 22, at 8 p.m., in Lee Auditorium on the campus of Pinecrest High School in Southern Pines.

Before the concert, a “Prelude to the Opens” dinner will be held at Pinehurst Country Club on Saturday, March 22, from 5-7 p.m.  The pre-concert dinner will feature remarks by Symphony Music Director Grant Llewellyn and “Sketches” composer Terry Mizesko.  For concert ticket holders, dinner is $35 per person.  For non-concert ticket holders, $65 per person includes dinner and a concert ticket. RSVP by March 11 at (877) 627-6724 or online at ncsymphony.org/prelude.

The world premiere of Mizesko’s orchestral work, “Sketches from Pinehurst,” was performed in April 2005 by the North Carolina Symphony. A compact disc featuring this piece was released by the orchestra in September 2005.  Mizesko received a Bachelor of Music degree in Theory/Composition from East Carolina University where he studied composition with Martin Mailman and Gregory Kosteck, and trombone with Eugene Narmour. He has played bass trombone with the North Carolina Symphony since 1971.  He also taught trombone for many years at Duke University, UNC-Chapel Hill and St. Augustine's College.

In addition to his performing duties with the North Carolina Symphony, Mr. Mizesko has also conducted education and holiday pops concerts, and has arranged and composed for the orchestra since 1989. His original compositions and arrangements have been played by several orchestras including Atlanta, Baltimore, Philadelphia, Louisville, Fort Worth, Syracuse, Buffalo, Virginia and his own North Carolina Symphony. His latest composition, “Tuscarora,” was premiered by the Triangle Youth Philharmonic in November 2013.

Rebekah Binford first joined the North Carolina Symphony as a tutti violinist in the 1982-83 season. Binford studied with James Buswell at Indiana University, with David Cerone and Ivan Galamian at Meadowmount, and has taken Master Classes with Isaac Stern and Joseph Silverstein. She worked closely with Joseph Silverstein while at Tanglewood’s Berkshire Music Center in both orchestral and chamber music. She has performed with many chamber music groups including Aurora Musicalis, Mallarme Chamber Players and Amici della Musica, which she helped found with other Symphony members in 1986.

Binford has been heard on national radio broadcasts from Tanglewood and the Eastern Music Festival. Binford was surrounded by classical music when she was growing up and it influenced her greatly. She performs on a Sanctus Seraphin violin made in Venice, Italy in 1736.

In addition to stellar performances, North Carolina Symphony concertgoers can enjoy pre-concert talks, post-concert discussions, and “Meet the Artists,” which feature interactive conversations with guest artists and select orchestra members, at many Symphony events.  For the March 22 performance, Timothy Haley of Sandhills Community College will host a “Meet The Artist” talk with Symphony Principal Horn Rebekah Daley at 7 p.m. in the Pinecrest High School Band Room.  Audience members can “Ask A Musician” in front of the stage at intermission.

Tickets to the Southern Pines Series performance on March 22 range from $24 to $50.  Student tickets are $10.  To purchase tickets, visit the North Carolina Symphony website at www.ncsymphony.org or call the Symphony Box Office at 919.733.2750 or toll free 877.627.6724.  Tickets are also available one hour prior to the concert outside Lee Auditorium at Pinecrest High School.

Lee Auditorium is located on the campus of Pinecrest High School, 250 Voit Gilmore Lane, Southern Pines, NC 28387

Partners for the 2013/14 Southern Pines/Moore County series include St. Joseph of the Pines and Quail Haven Village.  Statewide partnership and support is provided by Duke Energy.

About the North Carolina Symphony

Founded in 1932, the North Carolina Symphony gives more than 200 performances annually to adults and school children in more than 50 North Carolina counties. An entity of the North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources, the orchestra employs 66 professional musicians, under the artistic leadership of Music Director and Conductor Grant Llewellyn and Resident Conductor William Henry Curry.

Headquartered in downtown Raleigh’s spectacular Meymandi Concert Hall at the Duke Energy Center for the Performing Arts and an outdoor summer venue at Booth Amphitheatre in Cary, N.C., the Symphony performs about 60 concerts annually in the Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill and Cary metropolitan area. It holds regular concert series in Fayetteville, New Bern, Southern Pines and Wilmington—as well as individual concerts in many other North Carolina communities throughout the year—and conducts one of the most extensive education programs of any U.S. orchestra.

March 22 Concert/Event Listings:

North Carolina Symphony
“Sketches from Pinehurst”
Grant Llewellyn, Music Director

Saturday, March 22, 8 p.m.
Lee Auditorium, Pinecrest High School, Southern Pines, NC

March 22 Program
North Carolina Symphony
Grant Llewellyn, Music Director
Rebekah Binford, violin

Sketches from Pinehurst
Terry Mizesko (b. 1946)      
    I.   The Dream
   II.   Building the Community

The Lark Ascending, Romance for Violin and Orchestra
Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872-1958)  
    Rebekah Binford, violin

Sketches from Pinehurst
Terry Mizesko      
   III.  Intermezzo: The Golden Years
   IV.  Rumble On the Back Nine
    V.  Lament and Finale

Symphony No. 7 in D minor, Op. 70
Antonín Dvořák: (1841-1904)  
    I.   Allegro maestoso
    II.  Poco adagio
   III.  Scherzo: Vivace
   IV.  Finale: Allegro