IF CVNC.org CALENDAR and REVIEWS are important to you:

If you use the CVNC Calendar to find a performance to attend
If you read a review of your favorite artist
If you quote from a CVNC review in a program or grant application or press release

Now is the time to SUPPORT CVNC.org

Chamber Orchestra Preview Print

20th Century Luminaries: Copland, Corigliano and Schoenberg

The Chamber Orchestra of the Triangle at the Carolina Theatre

Event  Information

Durham -- ( Sun., Jan. 14, 2018 )

Chamber Orchestra of the Triangle: "20th Century Luminaries"
Adults $30; Students Free (Grade School-Graduate School) -- Carolina Theatre , (919) 360-3382 , http://www.thecot.org/ -- 3:00 PM

January 14, 2018 - Durham, NC:

This preview has been provided by Chamber Orchestra of the Triangle.

The first concert of the New Year appropriately presents some of the greatest music of the 20th century. As Maestro Lorenzo Muti celebrates the 30th year since assuming The COT podium, he has chosen pieces which fascinate him and with which he has personal connections.

John Corigliano's Voyage (for string orchestra) falls in the continuum of music which have brought him honor upon honor, including the Pulitzer Prize, five Grammy Awards, the Grawemeyer Award for Music Composition and an Oscar for The Red Violin. His composition breakthrough came at age 21 in 1964, in Spoleto, Italy — Lorenzo Muti's home. Voyage(1976) is an instrumental version of a 1971 choral work, a setting of Richard Wilbur's translation of Baudelaire's famous L'invitation au voyage. Corigliano noted that he translated into music "the quality of the repeated refrain found in his lush translation: 'There, there is nothing else but grace and measure, richness, quietness and pleasure'."

In Aaron Copland's Appalachian Spring, the orchestra brings back much of the original intent of Copland, as the original composition for chamber orchestra of only 13 will be presented with some augmented voicing. Few compositions are more ingrained in the American psyche than these eight pieces, especially with the wrenching beauty based on Shaker melodies. Interestingly, the ballet music, as it was commissioned for Martha Graham, was untitled by Copland. Appalachian Spring was suggested by Graham, based on a Hart Crane poetic phrase. It actually denoted a water spring, although the poem was a journey to meet Spring.

Also on the program is Arnold Schoenberg's Chamber Symphony No. 2 with which Schoenberg moved back to the tonality of his earliest work. Begun in 1906 and finished in 1939, it is believed that he brought it to such a successful form because he had left much of his exploration of and passion for tonality unexplored. While much of Schoenberg's reputation rests on the creation of the most influential method of twelve-tone or dodecaphonic composition which dominated much of the 20th century, his tonal music is rich and creative, based as it was on the German romantic styles of Brahms and Wagner. Come discover the original and final Schoenberg in this beautiful symphony.

Tickets are $30
All Students Free

Buy on line, by phone or at the Box Office

Details: www.TheCOT.org