IF CVNC.org CALENDAR and REVIEWS are important to you:

If you use the CVNC Calendar to find a performance to attend
If you read a review of your favorite artist
If you quote from a CVNC review in a program or grant application or press release

Now is the time to SUPPORT CVNC.org

Chamber Music Preview Print

Ciompi Quartet Presents 2018 Summer Chamber Music Series at Duke Gardens:
Then I Knew Twas Wind: Music for Flute, Viola, and Harp

provided by presenter

Jonathan Bagg
Laura Gilbert
Stacey Shames

Event  Information

Durham -- ( Tue., Jul. 10, 2018 )

Ciompi Quartet: Then I Knew ‘Twas Wind: Music for Flute, Viola, and Harp
Performed by Jonathan Bagg, viola; Laura Gilbert, flute; Stacey Shames, harp.
$25 - $10 -- Doris Duke Center , (919) 684-4444 , http://www.ciompi.org -- 7:30 PM

July 10, 2018 - Durham, NC:

This preview was provided by the Ciompi Quartet.

Jonathan Bagg (viola) will bring a fervent expectancy into the performance hall where he will again engage the audience in the modern chamber music landscape featuring refreshing lyrical works. Guest artists Laura Gilbert (flute) and Stacey Shames (harp) will join this adventure.


Harald Genzmer: Trio

Toru Takemitsu: And Then I Knew Twas Wind

Charles Koechlin: Épitaphe de Jean Harlow

Christopher Weiss: New Hampshire Sketches

About Ciompi Quartet Summer Chamber Music Series

The Duke University Department of Music and the Ciompi Quartet are pleased to announce the Ciompi Quartet Presents 2018 Summer Chamber Music Series, marking its seventh season at Duke Gardens. Ciompi Quartet Presents is a musical series featuring performances by Ciompi musicians and guest artists known for excellence in artistry and musicality.

Each summer the series delights the audience with an excitement that is as at home in the intimate setting offered by Kirby Horton Hall as the landscape is in the Gardens itself. This summer the series opens with a presentation by Canadian-born cellist Caroline Stinson, who has been appointed the new cellist in the Ciompi Quartet; Fred Raimi retired from the group at the end of this past season. Jonathan Bagg will perform a trio of modern works that feature the lyrical qualities of the viola, flute and harp. Eric Pritchard and Fred Raimi will come together to present two powerfully emotional works by master composers that will close out the summer series and set the stage for the season to come.

Subscriptions are $60. Purchase subscription tickets online at https:https://tickets.duke.edu/Online/bundleSelect.asp beginning May 22.

Single tickets are $25 General Public; $20 Non-Duke Students/Duke Employees; $10 Youth/Duke students. Purchase single tickets online https://tickets.duke.edu/Online/default.asp beginning June 5.

You may purchase tickets at the Duke University Box Office, Bryan Center, Upper Level. The box office is open weekdays 11am-6pm, or you may call 919-684-4444. The box office accepts cash, check, credit cards and Duke Card FLEX payments.

All concerts begin at 7:30 pm and will take place in Kirby Horton Hall in the Doris Duke Center at Sarah P. Duke Gardens, 420 Anderson St, Durham, NC 27708. Call 919-684-3698 for directions.

Ciompi Quartet Presents is sponsored by the Department of Music, Sarah P. Duke Gardens and Ciompi Quartet Fund.


The Ciompi Quartet was founded at Duke University in 1965 by the renowned Italian violinist Giorgio Ciompi. All its members are professors at Duke and play a leading role in the cultural life of the university and community, in addition to traveling widely throughout the year for performances.

In a career that includes many hundreds of concerts and spans five continents, the Ciompi Quartet has developed a reputation for performances of real intelligence and musical sophistication, and for a warm, unified sound that is enhanced by each player's strong individual voice. With a maturity and insight born of wide experience, the Ciompi Quartet projects the heart and soul of the music with a repertoire that ranges from well-known masterpieces to works by today's most communicative composers.

For more information on the Ciompi Quartet: ciompi.org