Orchestral Music

North Carolina Symphony: Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 5

Related Articles

( Fri., Feb. 7, 2020 - Sat., Feb. 8, 2020 )

Performed by North Carolina Symphony; Grant Llewellyn, conductor, James Ehnes, violin

Meymandi Concert Hall at Duke Energy Center for the Performing Arts, 2 East South Street, Raleigh, NC 27601-2337


Led by Grant Llewellyn, Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 5 is a journey of haunting melodies, shocking climaxes, charming elegance, and joyful abandon. Shostakovich’s Violin Concerto No. 1—a wild ride with a nearly nonstop solo line—is performed by the impeccable violinist James Ehnes, a two-time 2019 Grammy Award winner.



More information



NC Symphony Raleigh Classical Series


  • Friday, February 7, 2020 at 8:00 PM
  • Saturday, February 8, 2020 at 8:00 PM