Theatre



Justice Theater Project: Every Brilliant Thing


Related Articles

Fri., Oct. 22, 2021 at 7:30 PM ( Fri., Oct. 8, 2021 - Sun., Oct. 24, 2021 )

The Justice Theater Project, 8208 Brownleigh Drive, Raleigh, NC 27617

Program

Drawing on warmth, hope, and gentle humor, the play addresses the effects of depression and suicide, as experienced by son and playwright Duncan Macmillan, who was inspired to brighten his mother’s days by writing post-it notes with the brilliant things that make life worth living, such as, ice cream or water fights. Never speaking directly about his lists, he knows she reads it because she corrected his spelling. Macmillan revisits the list years later as a young man in love, a man growing up and experiencing life. The audience travels with him, as they interact and sometimes become key players in this retelling. Macmillan’s message in Every Brilliant Thing is that no matter how dark life may be, it may not be brilliant, but it will get better.

Notes

Special discussion events take place before and after shows on the following dates:

Oct. 9th and 16th at 6:30pm

Oct. 23 at 9:00pm

Cost

$23/adults, $20/senior, military, groups of 10+, $5/student, educator.

Dates

  • Friday, October 8, 2021 at 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, October 9, 2021 at 7:30 PM
  • Sunday, October 10, 2021 at 3:30 PM
  • Friday, October 15, 2021 at 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, October 16, 2021 at 7:30 PM
  • Sunday, October 17, 2021 at 3:30 PM
  • Friday, October 22, 2021 at 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, October 23, 2021 at 7:30 PM
  • Sunday, October 24, 2021 at 3:30 PM